City Commission


  • 2nd and 4th Thursdays at 6 pm
  • City Hall
    401 S Alamo Boulevard
    City Commission Office
    Marshall, TX 75670

Citizen Comments

Residents are encouraged to attend City Commission meetings and voice their concerns or views on issues not listed on the scheduled meeting agenda. Individuals who wish to voice such concerns are limited to three minutes or less. However, if more than three minutes is needed, please contact the City Secretary prior to the beginning of the meeting to request an additional two minutes to speak.

Agendas & Minutes

View the most recent agendas and minutes.  Agendas are available prior to the meetings; minutes are available following approval.

City Commissioners


The municipal government of the City of Marshall is known as a council-manager type of government. All powers of the City rest in an elected Commission which:

  • Adopts budgets
  • Appoints the:
    • City Attorney
    • City Manager, who executes the laws and administers the government of the City
    • City Secretary
    • Judge of the Municipal Court
  • Determines policies
  • Enacts local legislation

Districts & Elections

The City is divided into seven single-member districts, with elections for Districts 1 through 4 held on odd-numbered years, and elections for Districts 5 through 7 held on even-numbered years. Elections are held in May, and the City Commission selects from its members one Commissioner to serve as Mayor.